物聯網

Wi-Fi® 是一個重要的物聯網推動者

Wi-Fi在物聯網創新中發揮了基礎性作用,提供了無處不在的連接,將各種各樣的“物”彼此連接,並將其連接到互聯網,連接到正在世界各地使用中的180億Wi-Fi設備上。物聯網的經濟潛力是無限的,而Wi-Fi為包括智能家居、智能城市、汽車、醫療保健、企業、政府和工業物聯網環境在內的多個領域提供了廣泛的機會。

Wi-Fi使用戶能夠實現智能家居的自動化,連接各種互聯的家居用品,即時監控工業設施中的供應鏈和其他關鍵功能,並通過提高企業和混合工作場景的生產力和效率來解鎖業務價值。Wi-Fi提供的集成和互操作性將使物聯網解決方案彼此之間以及與數十億以用戶為中心的設備安全互連,從而釋放物聯網應用和環境的最大價值。

Wi-Fi 提供強大的物聯網優勢

Wi-Fi是世界上使用最廣泛的技術之一,其與現有Wi-Fi網路的整合、廣泛的技術組合以及強大的互操作性使其成為釋放物聯網最大價值的顯著選擇。Wi-Fi將在幾乎所有的物聯網環境中發揮作用,無論是在單獨的或是與更多的專業協議或技術一同進行的情況下都是如此。使得Wi-Fi適用於物聯網的幾個獨特的性能包括:

  • 基於標準、可互操作的技術:物聯網的承諾是建立在廣泛的設備製造商之上的。Wi-Fi提供了一個共同的平臺,從而提供越來越多的物聯網應用,這些應用在性能、功率和延遲要求方面都有所不同。而Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™提供了信心,無論產品品牌是什麼,數十億的設備都將互操作,並提供高質量的用戶體驗。
  • 無所不在的連接:物聯網系統通常通過移動設備進行控制,而Wi-Fi可以無縫控制智能手機、平板電腦以及目前已經在使用的180億臺Wi-Fi設備,從而幫助釋放物聯網的全部潛力。無處不在的全球連接使用戶和網路運營商有能力連接和控制一個統一的系統。
  • 經驗證的WPA3™ 安全:通過物聯網應用交換敏感的政府、工業和個人資訊。Wi-Fi提供經過驗證的WPA3™安全性,從而保護個人以及企業環境中的資訊交換。選擇Wi-Fi認證的物聯網設備可以確保數據受到最新的企業級安全協議的保護。
  • 性價比高,部署簡單:Wi-Fi易於部署且性價比高,不需要單獨的網關或專業技能來交付物聯網應用。Wi-Fi每天都被世界各地的用戶所依賴和部署,並不斷發展以簡化設備配對、網路認證等。
  • 向後相容性:對於考慮到成本、可靠性和支持的物聯網產品架構師來說,Wi-Fi是一項明智的投資,可以使他們的技術投資面向未來。Wi-Fi將經受住時間的考驗,這將最大限度地減少過早淘汰的風險,並確保傳統設備能夠輕鬆連接到家庭網路。
  • 位置識別:Wi-Fi Location™ 提供亞米級的位置資訊,可以為工業和智能城市環境提供一系列位置感知的物聯網服務,實現資產管理、網路管理和地理圍欄等增強效益。
  • 可靠的、精密的連接:家庭和工業物聯網網路需要穩定且可靠的連接。Wi-Fi 6網路具有完善的網路效率、診斷、管理和優化能力。Wi-Fi 6和Wi-Fi 6E處理多個同時連接的設備和大數據吞吐量,同時為4K視頻流和AR/VR等應用提供高性能和較低的延遲。Wi-Fi 6和Wi-Fi  6E還允許連接製造機器人和無人機等設備,即使它們在家庭或工業網路中移動或“漫遊”也是如此。
  • 靈活的網路拓撲結構:除了通過接入點的傳統Wi-Fi連接外,Wi-Fi CERTIFIED EasyMesh®Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Wi-Fi Aware™,和Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Wi-Fi Direct®為不同的物聯網環境提供各種網路拓撲結構,從而滿足物聯網網路和物聯網應用需求的可擴展和可定制選項。與單純的星形或網狀拓撲結構相比,Wi-Fi為網路管理者提供了更靈活的物聯網網路連接拓撲選擇。

Wi-Fi的廣泛組合解決了支持高吞吐量和低延遲應用(如AR/VR)的IoT用例,以及長期、低功耗的資產跟蹤應用或農村灌溉系統。Wi-Fi Alliance認證,包括Wi-Fi CERTIFIED 6®Wi-Fi CERTIFIED HaLow™Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Easy Connect以及Wi-Fi CERTIFIED QoS Management,可滿足住宅、工業和其他物聯網環境的獨特物聯網需求。

物聯網市場的巨大潛力導致設備在未經充分測試的情況下被推向市場,提供了不太理想的用戶體驗。Wi-Fi CERTIFIED設備符合安全、互操作性和一系列特定應用協議的高質量標準,為用戶和網路運營商提供了良好的體驗。

Wi-Fi Alliance News See All
The Signal Podcast
Episode 21: Diving into Wi-Fi® smart home data with Shane Paola of Plume
Episode 20: Revolutionizing healthcare through Wi-Fi 6E with Ali Youssef of Henry Ford Health
Episode 19: IoT interoperability through Matter and Wi-Fi® with Chris LaPre of CSA
Episode 15: The Wi-Fi® IoT advantage with James Chen of MediaTek
Episode 6: 2022 Wi-Fi® trends with Edgar Figueroa of Wi-Fi Alliance
Episode 3: Wi-Fi® by the numbers - Top three Wi-Fi industry trends with Phil Solis of IDC Research
Media Coverage See All
‘Matter’ kicks off with a bang in Amsterdam – with Silicon Labs in starring role
The State of IoT: Audio Roundtable
Matter 1.0 arrives, at last – with test labs, test tools, and mission to make IoT easier
Additional Resources

Internet of Things

Wi-Fi® is an essential IoT enabler

Wi-Fi has played a foundational role in delivering IoT innovation, providing pervasive connectivity to connect a wide variety of “things” to each other, to the internet, and to 18 billion Wi-Fi devices in use around the world. The economic potential of the Internet of Things is boundless, and Wi-Fi delivers a vast range of opportunities across a variety of sectors including smart homes, smart cities, automotive, healthcare, enterprise, government, and industrial IoT environments.

Wi-Fi enables users to automate their smart homes and connect a wide variety of connected household objects, monitor supply chains and other critical functions in real time in industrial facilities, and unlock business value by increasing productivity and efficiencies for both enterprises and hybrid-work scenarios. Integration and interoperability delivered by Wi-Fi will enable IoT solutions to securely interconnect to one another and to billions of user-centric devices to unlock the greatest value from IoT applications and environments.

Wi-Fi delivers a strong IoT advantage

Wi-Fi is one of the most widely used technologies around the world, and integration with existing Wi-Fi networks, a wide-ranging technology portfolio, and a strong legacy of interoperability make it an obvious choice to unlock the greatest value from IoT. Wi-Fi will play a role in almost every IoT environment, either alone or alongside more specialized protocols or technologies. Several unique competencies that uniquely position Wi-Fi for IoT include:

  • Standards-based, interoperable technology: The promise of IoT is founded on a wide range of device manufacturers. Wi-Fi provides a common platform to deliver a growing range of IoT applications that vary in performance, power, and latency requirements. Wi-Fi CERTIFIED™ delivers confidence that billions of devices will interoperate and provide a quality user experience regardless of product brand.
  • Pervasive connectivity: IoT systems are often controlled through mobile devices, and Wi-Fi allows seamless control of smartphones, tablets, and 18 billion Wi-Fi devices already in use today to help unlock the full potential of the IoT. Pervasive global connectivity empowers users and network operators to connect and control a unified system.
  • Proven WPA3™ security: Sensitive government, industrial, and personal information is exchanged through IoT applications. Wi-Fi delivers proven, WPA3™ security to protect information exchanged in personal and enterprise environments. Choosing Wi-Fi CERTIFIED IoT devices ensures data is protected with the latest, enterprise-grade security protocols.
  • Cost effective, simple deployment: Wi-Fi is an easy-to-deploy and cost-effective foundation that requires no separate gateways or specialized skills to deliver IoT applications. Wi-Fi is relied on and deployed by users worldwide every day, and continues to evolve to simplify device pairing, network authentication, and more.
  • Backward compatibility: Wi-Fi is a smart investment for IoT product architects who consider cost, reliability, and support in future-proofing their technology investment. Wi-Fi will stand the test of time which minimizes the risk of premature obsolescence and ensures legacy devices can easily connect to home networks.
  • Location awareness: Wi-Fi Location™ delivers sub-meter-level location information that allows a range of location-aware IoT services for industrial and smart city environments, enabling enhanced benefits such as asset management, network management, and geo-fencing.
  • Reliable, sophisticated connectivity: Home and industrial IoT networks require consistent and reliable connectivity. Wi-Fi 6 networks deliver sophisticated network efficiency, diagnostics, management, and optimization capabilities. Wi-Fi 6 and Wi-Fi 6E handle multiple simultaneously connected devices and heavy data throughput while delivering high performance and low latencies for applications including 4K video streaming and AR/VR. Wi-Fi 6 and Wi-Fi 6E also allows devices, such as manufacturing robots, and drones, to remain connected even as they move or “roam” throughout home or industrial networks.
  • Flexible network topology: In addition to a traditional Wi-Fi connection through access points, Wi-Fi CERTIFIED EasyMesh®, Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Wi-Fi Aware™, and Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Wi-Fi Direct® offer a variety of network topologies to different IoT environments for scalable and customizable options to meet IoT network and IoT application needs. Wi-Fi offers more flexible topology options to network managers for IoT network connections than solely star or mesh topologies.

Wi-Fi’s extensive portfolio addresses IoT use cases that support high throughput and low latency applications, such as AR/VR, and long range, low power requirements for asset tracking applications or rural irrigation systems. Wi-Fi Alliance certifications, including Wi-Fi CERTIFIED 6®, Wi-Fi CERTIFIED HaLow™, Wi-Fi CERTIFIED Easy Connect, and Wi-Fi CERTIFIED QoS Management deliver capabilities to meet unique IoT requirements across residential, industrial, and other IoT environments.

The enormous potential of the IoT market has resulted in devices brought to market without sufficient testing, delivering a less-than-optimal user experience. Wi-Fi CERTIFIED devices meet high quality standards for security, interoperability, and a range of application-specific protocols to deliver a good experience for users and network operators.

Wi-Fi Alliance News See All
The Signal Podcast
Episode 21: Diving into Wi-Fi® smart home data with Shane Paola of Plume
Episode 20: Revolutionizing healthcare through Wi-Fi 6E with Ali Youssef of Henry Ford Health
Episode 19: IoT interoperability through Matter and Wi-Fi® with Chris LaPre of CSA
Episode 15: The Wi-Fi® IoT advantage with James Chen of MediaTek
Episode 6: 2022 Wi-Fi® trends with Edgar Figueroa of Wi-Fi Alliance
Episode 3: Wi-Fi® by the numbers - Top three Wi-Fi industry trends with Phil Solis of IDC Research
Media Coverage See All
‘Matter’ kicks off with a bang in Amsterdam – with Silicon Labs in starring role
The State of IoT: Audio Roundtable
Matter 1.0 arrives, at last – with test labs, test tools, and mission to make IoT easier
Additional Resources